top of page

Purpose and Mission

NJAMWMW is a non-profit organization.  Our purpose and mission is to unite Ministers’ Wives and Ministers’ Widows of various Christian denominations into one Christian Fellowship through Faith, Love, and Prayer.  Our aim is to cultivate goodwill in our local areas, state and internationally with endowments, scholarships, education and community involvement.

Our Mission

Rebecca M. Stanford - Organizer NJ.png

The New Jersey Association of Ministers’ Wives & Ministers’ Widows, Inc. (Interdenominational) was organized on August 5,1950.  Mrs. Rebecca M. Stanford of Atlantic City attended the Annual National Association of Ministers’ Wives held in Cleveland, OH in June 1950.  National Founder and President, Mrs. Elizabeth Coles Bouey of Richmond, VA issued a call that all delegates from various states present would meet in state groups, organize, and  become part of the National organization. 

New Jersey’s first officers:  Mrs. Mable Alexander, Vice President; Mrs. Pearl Crawley, Secretary; and Mrs. Alma Billups, Treasurer.  For the membership drive of 1950-51, the whole program and set-up was interdenominational, and that all ministers’ wives and widows were eligible for membership.  She received the National Loving Cup for 9 years for bringing in the highest number of new members.  The State Flower is Violet.  The State Color was Pink.

Mrs. Stanford served as the National’s Second Corresponding Secretary for 9 years.  Mrs. Stanford and the New Jersey AMWMWs hosted the National Conference in Jersey City, NJ in 1958.  In 1961, she received the E.C. Bouey Award.  Mrs. Rebecca M. Stanford was inducted into the Hall of Fame and into the Council of Presidents of the International Association of Ministers’ Wives and Ministers’ Widows at International Headquarters, which is located in Richmond, VA. 

Mrs. Stanford was the wife of Rev. John R. Stanford.  Rev. & Mr. Stanford served as pastor and first lady of the Second Baptist Church, Atlantic City and at Zion Hill Baptist Church, Newark.  Mrs. Stanford passed from earth to glory on April 1, 1994.


Mrs. Rebecca Stanford

Mrs. Knobia H. Neil

Mrs. Esther M. Pinkston

Mrs. Mable Alexander

Mrs. Authella N. Oates

Mrs. Mary T. Williams

1950 - 1959

1959 - 1966

1966 - 1969

1969 - 1970

1970 - 1976

1976 - 1981

Mrs. Margaret W. Goodman

Mrs. Carrie T. White

Mrs. Katherine G. Brown

Mrs. Naomi G. Douglas

Dr.   Lorretta Dupree

Min. Cynthia Tucker

1981 - 1990

1990 - 1998

1998 - 2002

2002 - 2010

2010 - 2018



bottom of page